Charged with a DUI? Take These Steps Immediately!

If you have been charged with DUI in Utah, you’re probably wondering what your next steps should be and what your options are in dealing with the charge. You likely provided a breath, urine, or blood test, but if you didn’t, you have extra cause for concern. Utah has an implied consent law, which means that if you refuse to take a sobriety test, you can be fined and have an automatic license suspension of 18 months as a first offender.

DUI charges are a serious matter, but if you follow these three steps immediately, you will be in the best possible position to deal with your case and its consequences.

Hire a Utah DUI Attorney

People charged with DUI often fail to hire an attorney right away. This is a mistake, as DUIs are time-sensitive and two different cases will apply:

  • The court case where you face criminal charges that could result in probation, fines, and even jail time.
  • The driver’s license issue, which involves suspension of your license and restrictions on your driving privileges

First offenders face a minimum of two days in jail, a fine of at least $700, and a 120-day license suspension. A criminal defense attorney will protect your rights and fight to have the charges dismissed or at least reduced, minimizing their negative impact on your future.

Recover Your Vehicle from Impound

If you are arrested for DUI in Utah, your car is automatically seized and impounded. To get your vehicle out of impound, you will need to go to the closest DMV office and provide a bill of sale, title, or other evidence of ownership. After you present picture ID, the TC-540 Vehicle Impound Report, and pay the necessary fee, the DMV will provide you with a Letter of Impound Release. After you pay towing and storage fees, you will be able to retrieve your car from the impound yard.

Request a Motor Vehicle Hearing

Within 10 days of your arrest, you must request a hearing with the Drivers License Division of the Utah Department of Public Safety. Your attorney can assist you with filing the necessary paperwork. Failure to request a hearing will almost certainly result in a license suspension of at least 120 days. You will also lose your license if you file in court but not in the license suspension hearing itself.

If you or someone you love is facing DUI charges in and around the Wasatch Front in Utah, contact Arnold, Wadsworth & Coggins today. We will advocate for you and fight for your best interests throughout the criminal court and driver’s license proceedings, doing whatever it takes to give you the maximum chance at success.

Written by Arnold Wadsworth Coggins

Arnold, Wadsworth & Coggins Attorneys is a premier Utah law firm serving the Wasatch Front in the areas of family law, bankruptcy, criminal law, and civil litigation. Our attorneys provide clients with exceptional legal representation and personal attention. With over 35 years of trial practice and litigation experience, we bring big firm expertise at affordable rates