After you receive your final divorce decree there will be things that change after the divorce decree is entered. For example, incomes will change. Sometimes the incomes of the Parties that went through a divorce will go up and sometimes they will go down. Either way a child support modification in your divorce may be warranted.
How do you know whether you qualify for child support modification? According to Utah Statute if the incomes will bring forth a 10% in your child support then you may qualify for child support modification in your divorce decree. For example, if your divorce decree states that child support shall be $200 a month and the new incomes would result in child support being increased to $220 or down to $180 a month then the child support modification is warranted in your divorce decree. This can result in a lot of money. This can either be a lot of savings or more money out of your pocket.
The other way that child support may be modified in your divorce decree is if it has been three (3) or more years since your divorce decree was entered. If it has at least been that long it is important that you ask for financials from your ex-spouse and see if there is a change that would warrant a child support modification. Your divorce decree should state whether you can do this. If your divorce decree is silent on the issue then it is important that you follow Utah divorce laws.
At Arnold & Wadsworth we offer a free consultation to see if we can help you with your post divorce issues. Feel free to give us a call today.